Skip to content

the other side of the ocean

20/07/2010

I recently spent a month in San Francisco with my best friend. It’s taken me a little bit of time to gather photos, my thoughts and myself after returning, and I know I left a big piece of myself on the other side of that puddle we call the pacific. I visited for the first time last year, and by pure coincidence I found myself meeting Leah at the airport once again, exactly one year later. To the day.

Somehow, the internet gave me the most wonderful best friend imaginable. This woman is amazing and sometimes I find it hard to believe we haven’t known each other since we were four years old.

While I was there, I spent many hours wondering coastal trails and watching the pacific from my new favorite beach. It was time spent perfectly, exactly what my soul needed.


I pretended to be a local while exploring surrounding neighborhoods.


I spent time with the most wonderful people, discovered places I know I’ll visit again and revisited places I’ve missed…


We had the most amazing day road tripping up the coast…


and for once, the universe put me in the right place, at the right time…


Leaving was incredibly difficult. But I came home knowing the pacific isn’t so vast after all, and that home isn’t made of walls or earth. It’s made of people.

All images ©2010 Ashley Oostdyck

13 Comments leave one →
  1. 20/07/2010 11:18

    Looks like you had an awesome time. I need to visit San Francisco.

  2. 20/07/2010 12:37

    must have been so nice to spend QT with your bestie in such a wonderful, wonderful place.

  3. 20/07/2010 13:16

    glorious shots – especially the last two. i want to go back to SF to explore more.

  4. 20/07/2010 13:28

    Well, what a coincidence, both us Aussie girls flew across the pond to San Fran recently!
    I am yet to start going through the photos. However I see that the sun was shining more when you were there! We were there in the cozy cool fogs. Awesome city! What a wonderful trip you must have had.

  5. 21/07/2010 04:42

    gorgeous photographs. Thank you for sharing them. I love how you’ve captured the light in these. I think my absolute favorite of this series would be the laundromat though. I just love laundromats as photography subjects. Have a lovely week :)

  6. 21/07/2010 22:54

    gorgeous photos and such a wonderful post. i am so glad that you were able to visit leah again so soon.

  7. 21/07/2010 23:38

    This is so gorgeous. All of it. I miss San Francisco so much at times. And it is amazing how you can find such good friends via the internet.

  8. 22/07/2010 01:46

    so glad you had such a wonderful time! those pictures are pretty

  9. 22/07/2010 16:32

    These are incredibly beautiful photographs and paired with your words makes it just right. I love your last 2 sentences.

  10. 23/07/2010 06:37

    right place, indeed. could not have been righter.

    love you so much. now please come home. charlie misses you.

    xoxox

  11. 27/07/2010 07:24

    i am so happy you two found each other. this is so beautiful. and yes. it’s made of people.

  12. 11/10/2010 12:45

    gorgeous

  13. 14/11/2010 14:41

    oh i would love to know exactly the spot where those beautiful trees are for when i get to visit america!
    do you remember where that was?
    xxx

Leave a Reply

