Skip to content

a boy and a seal

08/02/2010


I was going to call this post “unlikely friends”, but you know what? It’s not unlikely at all, just something you don’t see everyday. Boys love puppies, puppies love boys, and seals are the puppies of the sea. That makes perfect sense to me.

On Saturday I went to the aquarium with a lovely friend, I had grand plans of being 5-years-old for a day, and capturing wonderful fishy images… Somehow I came back with more portraits of people than fish. We watched this seal play with kids all afternoon, it was enchanted with anyone tiny, especially these little boys.

I watched people discover amazing things, with the soft light of luminescent tanks making their faces glow with more than just a smiles. Until now, I’d never thought of these places as a people watching opportunity, but it’s perfect really. People are so wrapped up in what they’re looking at, they barely notice when you snap a shot of them in the dark.

And this closet Marine Biologist now has an annual pass, so I get to be 5-years-old for a whole day, again and again and again… :)

15 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/02/2010 00:35

    Wow! These are astonishingly beautiful photographs of an afternoon well spent. Thanks for sharing.

  2. 09/02/2010 01:04

    i’m blow away by these shots – there is just something so magical about the combination of the low light, the B&W, and the discovery of each other. beautiful and magical – it makes me wonder what it would be like to live in complete harmony with people and animals – it would be like a dream, wouldn’t it?

  3. Miriam permalink
    09/02/2010 02:42

    Precious fotos! What tenderness, that little finger on the seal’s nose. And your boys eyes and sweet smile on the following foto. I loved it.

  4. 09/02/2010 02:46

    ash. these are incredibly beautiful, and this all sounds so lovely you might even get this fish hating girl to visit with you- you’d have to lead me past all the fishy things with my eyes closed : ) until we get to the goodstuff.

  5. 09/02/2010 06:32

    These images are…well, they’re divine. Truly beautiful.

  6. 09/02/2010 16:12

    Hi Ash, I love these photos so much. So beautiful and a bit sad for some reason. Found your blog through SF Girl’s Blog it Forward schedule.

  7. 10/02/2010 03:01

    so sweet. so so sweet.

  8. 10/02/2010 07:32

    Nothing short of wonderful. Full of passion and love.

    You amaze me, Ash. And I love it. xoxox

  9. 11/02/2010 14:26

    OMG Ash! Wow – finally had a chance to catch up with your blog and seeing the developed series is amazing!!! You caught them both perfectly :)

  10. Lisa permalink
    12/02/2010 23:50

    my smile grew wider with every picture, and your words makes one appreciate people watching that much more. My son is the same age as that boy, and from behind it gave me the same sense that I could be watching my own…just lovely thank you

  11. 16/02/2010 17:53

    these are really amazing.

  12. 17/02/2010 11:28

    just blogged about you. :) (cocoagreen23.blogspot.com)

  13. 19/02/2010 12:04

    Such beautiful shots.

  14. 11/03/2010 06:12

    These are so beautiful and innocent. Two little loves.

    I just found your blog, you have an amazing eye.Wonderful just wonderful.

Trackbacks

  1. And a Final Review « Jay Dee Dearness

Leave a Reply

