Skip to content

inspiration from the unexpected

10/08/2009

I have a camera collection that’s growing out of control, I carry at least one (ok, three) of them around with me all the time, I take self portraits in bathroom mirrors, I photograph everyday moments, I wander the streets in search of the invisible. I am not alone.

Many people share my passion for photography and cameras, I’m inspired by them every day. But I never expected to be inspired in the same way by Sammy Davis, Jr. I recently picked up a book called Photo, it’s a collection of images shot by Sammy throughout his life. He was a collector of cameras, he photographed everyday moments, he made his friends the subjects of his passion. He took dorky self portraits in bathroom mirrors.

His everyday moments were more extraordinary than mine, and his friends a little more famous. Sammy lived in another era, with a different lifestyle and background, but it seems we were both motivated by the same thing that makes me pick up my camera every day.

I was delighted and inspired by this book, and because sharing is caring, here is a little peek at Photo,
by Sammy Davis, Jr


SDJ_cover

SDJ_1

SDJ_2

SDJ_3

SDJ_7

SDJ_5

SDJ_6

SDJ_8

SDJ_4

12 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/08/2009 15:58

    no friggin way. what an awesome find. so inspiring!

  2. 10/08/2009 16:36

    Oh, i totally understand the obsession with cameras! My “little” collection now numbers at 14! I always seem to be able to justify the purchase of another though.

    I love the second self portrait. It’s great to get a glimpse into his private world…

  3. 11/08/2009 00:29

    awesome find ash. i will absolutely check it out.

  4. 11/08/2009 01:34

    sharing is caring

    xoxox

  5. bhamgirl717 permalink
    11/08/2009 05:06

    I’ve seen that book and loved it too – beautiful, soft and dramatic shots in there. I have three little cuties in addition to my two “everyday” cameras.

  6. Jodi McKee permalink
    11/08/2009 05:25

    how fabulous!

  7. 11/08/2009 07:18

    so badass. i love it – thanks for sharing.

  8. 12/08/2009 23:57

    This book is awesome! What a great insight into the life of Mr. Davis!

  9. 21/08/2009 02:32

    such a cool book, wow!

  10. 21/08/2009 04:11

    i must have that book. and i feel so validated that i have the same camera that sammy had! a rolleiflex! yay for self-portraits in the mirror!

  11. 25/08/2009 12:12

    Wonderful eye-candy of a book Ash :)

  12. 08/09/2009 00:27

    these images are fantastic! seriously. he captured that era to the T. i was just complaining about how no one in our era really dressed up anymore. it’s a shame.

    great stuff here ash :) also, i’m loving the new blog set up. i wish i could add this to my followed blogs on blogspot :(

Leave a Reply

