Skip to content

lost and found

11/04/2009

I thought I’d lost this photo, but just now I found it stuck inside one of my notebooks, having forgotten altogether that I’d put it there for safe keeping.

rah


A gallery nearby holds life drawing sessions once a fortnight. The night I took this photo, I went with a pair of lovely friends, we had a great time and I vowed to continue going. I took my Polaroid Automatic 100—loaded with some lovely b+w film—in the hope that the model might agree to pose for a few shots for me. The thing is, I was too shy to ask. I wish I hadn’t been, but it really is much harder to approach a stranger when they’re naked. Especially when you’re asking to take photos of them.

So, the night ended and everyone packed up and left… and there I was standing alone with my loaded camera. I was however, surrounded by wonderful artwork. I don’t remember the name of the artist, but as you can see he had some really interesting artworks on display. Walking away, I promised myself that I wouldn’t be shy about asking again, because really, the worst thing that can happen is someone says no. And that’s not the end of the world is it?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. hellosweetworld permalink
    14/04/2009 03:24

    It’s not the end of the world but somehow it’s so hard to ask that simple question sometimes. I think we all can understand that.

  2. 14/04/2009 09:22

    I remember that night fondly. Sadly that was the last time I went to life drawing also! So this Wednesday night (tomorrow night) let’s do it…Not ask a naked lady for her photo but do some sketching???

  3. 22/04/2009 01:23

    What a super photo! Glad you found it. And I’m glad I found your blog! I think I may have discovered it via your Etsy shop.

    Yeah, just ask next time. Be brave!

    …says me who would be far to shy to ask myself ;D

Leave a Reply

